Hello tomorrow!

Established by the Government of India, we commenced operations in 1982 under the Export-Import Bank of India Act, 1981 as a purveyor of export credit, mirroring global Export Credit Agencies. With our rich pedigree, today we serve as a growth engine for industries and SMEs through a wide range of products and services. This includes import of technology and export product development, export production, export marketing, pre-shipment and post-shipment and overseas investment. In a rapidly shifting financial landscape, we are a catalyst and key player in the promotion of cross border trade and investment. By instilling a powerful culture of innovation and foresight, we help India maximize its potential and meet and exceed its vision.

  • Our flagship programs include:

    • Buyer's Credit under NEIA
    • Corporate Banking
    • Line of Credit
    • Overseas Investment Finance
    • Project Finance
  • Leadership

    Shri. R.C. Shah was the first Chairman and Managing Director (CMD) from 1982 - 1985. His extensive commercial and international Banking experience built a strong decision-making muscle that pushed us towards our objectives. His vision nurtured our organisational culture from being flat and non hierarchical to being multi disciplinary and problem solving in approach.

    Shri. Kalyan Banerji succeeded him from 1985 - 1993. His complex commercial banking experience with conducive exposure to international banking helped drive transformational change at Exim Bank. Ms. Tarjani Vakil led the Bank from 1993 - 1996, with an unrelenting focus on export capability creation to accelerate growth at multiple levels. Ms. Vakil has the distinction of being one of the first women to head a financial institution in India. Shri. Y.B. Desai, Shri. T.C. Venkat Subramanian and Smt. Ravneet Kaur, then Joint Secretary (IF) Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance, held the reins from 1997 - 2001, 2001 - 2009 and 2009 - 2010 respectively. Shri. T.C.A. Ranganathan took charge to implement mission-driven organisational changes till 2013. Shri. Anurag Jain, Joint Secretary, Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance held the interim charge of CMD till early 2014. Shri Yaduvendra Mathur, IAS, took charge as Chairman & Managing Director of the Bank for a tenure of three years, from February 2014 to February 2017. Shri David Rasquinha was appointed the Managing Director of Exim Bank from August 2017.

  • Board

    Exim Bank of India is led at the Board level by a team of eminent personnel including senior policy makers, expert bankers, leading players in industry and international trade and professionals in exports, imports or financing. Currently, our Board comprises 12 directors appointed by the Government of India, including the Chairman and Managing Director. These include five high-ranking Government of India functionaries, three directors from scheduled commercial banks and four industry/trade experts. Key roles are fulfilled by three directors nominated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), Industrial Development Bank of India (IDBI) and ECGC Ltd.

    To know about our present directors, please visit: Board of Directors